Red Lettering

Stories will not be written easily. A story without a heart is dead, and the only place it will get a heart is from the author.

Writing Prompt: 10-03-2014

Origin“…Into the Light” by David Butali. I know neither this man nor his other pictures, so be wary if you decide to look him up.

Feeling inspired? Write this story. You can tell it here, in the comments, or move it to your blog and leave a link in the comments. I cannot wait to see what you’ll come up with!

[I really look forward to being able to read anything you write from this prompt, and I expect to enjoy it very much and for my readers to also enjoy it. That said, please keep everything as clean as it gets because otherwise I will delete the comment or link to your blog.”Only what is good for building up…” If in doubt, ask. My contact information is on the About page.]

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Writing Prompt: 10-03-2014

  1. The boys walked out of the tunnel and into the light of day.
    I stalked after them, using the tunnel’s darkness to my advantage. The little idiots didn’t even look back, not that they would have been able to see me. How dare they think they could use the tunnels for travel? Those belonged to us.
    I shifted into my bear form. The fur flowed over me and my size increased fivefold.
    I charged the boys, eating the ground between us. The larger boy turned just in time for me to knock him down. I reared to my full height and roared.
    A rock hit me in the shoulder, just enough to get my attention.
    The smaller boy picked up another rock. “Get off my brother!”
    He threw the rock. It bounced off my nose.
    “Really?” I demanded.
    The boy paused.
    I shifted form and shrank as I did so.
    “You’re a dwarf!” the older boy laughed, probably more because he’d realized I wasn’t going to eat him.
    I patted down my beard. “No. I’m a werebear.”
    “You’re mean,” the younger boy said.
    I glared at them. “You two are in our territory. Stay out of the subways and sewers.”
    “That’s no excuse for terrorizing us,” the older boy snapped.
    “You think I’m the only thing here?” I shook my finger at him. “Go to the older subway system and you’ll find the dragon. You want to deal with a dragon, boy?”
    The older boy looked at his feet.
    “Oh, and avoid the small sewers. The goblins live there and they will eat you.” I waved my hands at them. “Now, shoe before I decide to turn into a bear again.”

    • This is very intriguing. It makes me wonder about what world they’re in. 🙂 I felt like the build-up of tension at the beginning was very good… So good that I felt just a little bit disappointed when the tension dropped so dramatically. This might just be me, though.
      I did enjoy the story. Well done! 🙂

I love hearing your comments. Please add to the discussion! (It'd be awesome if you could keep the comments G Rated. Thanks. :p)

