Red Lettering

Stories will not be written easily. A story without a heart is dead, and the only place it will get a heart is from the author.

So You Want to Start a Blog: Simple Tips for the Beginning Blogger

So You want to Start a Blog: Simple Tips for the Beginning Blogger

I would start this post with, “For ages, people have decided to start their own blogs, and yet never done it for the fear that they might do something wrong. Worse, they start it, and don’t know what they’re doing, and so leave it to sit and gather dust.”

But I cannot do that, for blogs haven’t really been around for that long. When it comes to blogging, most of us don’t honestly have a whole lot of experience.

Because of that, there is a lot of different methods and manners which you will find on many different blogs.  If you’ve seen something contradicting what I shall say in this post, it’s really up to you to decide what the best way of blogging is.

Before you start your blog, you must know: Blogging is hard. 

If you still want to go on with this, now would be a good time to find out what blogging platform you’ll be using. Personally, I prefer WordPress for the professional appearance, the easy dashboard and posting abilities, and the stats page. Others prefer Blogger for the the fact that it is easy to customize, and you have more options (I think? Correct me if I’m wrong). I’ve also seen people using Weebly, but I know next to nothing about that.

You will have to pick your own blogging platform according to your needs and preferences.

Next, Consider the purpose of your blog. 

This will define what your blog becomes. Do you want it to be about writing? About water-skiing? About necklace making? About life? Whatever you choose as your main focus will most likely stay your main focus for your blogging years.

Plan before you start your blog.

As for me, I wrote up a list of things I wanted to do and the days I wanted to do it: Writing Articles go on Wednesday, Writing Prompts on Friday, etc. If at all possible, I avoid switching things around; it gives me a solid structure to stick to. I am something of a list person, so you’ll have to know yourself to be aware of how deeply you should plan.

Be consistent with your style of writing, your advice, and your schedule. It will make your blog feel tied together, one steady piece rather than a bunch of disjoint pieces of writing.

Create a “About” page. 

This is the first thing I check for when I visit new blogs. I want to get a feel for the person and have a knowledge of what the blog is about before I go exploring. Be honest. How upfront you are depends on your preferences, but do be honest about yourself, since this will most likely be the first impression any reader gets — make it an accurate one.

Put up your first post. 

To be honest, you will most likely get very few people reading your first post. This is more for you than it is for them. It gives you a good, solid opening for your brain.

Keep writing, and wait.

Practice makes progress, so keep practicing, and don’t get discouraged. When you find things to fix, fix them; your blog will get better.

Congratulations. You are now a blogger.

Eventually you’ll learn to do things according to the style of blog you have. You may start to attach title pictures, or start up an Awkward and Awesome Thursday. You’ll learn to be friendly on other blogs and to comment back on your own blog whenever possible. Blogging will be hard, but I believe that you will find it worth it.

Don’t give up. Even when your stats drop, even when you don’t have any followers, even when you don’t seem to be doing very well. Focus, improve, publicize, wait. People will come.

Writing a blog will be different from writing a novel, so expect to treat it differently — which is not to say you cannot do some of the same things you do while writing creatively. Personally, I like to have a cup of coffee nearby when I write, whether blog posts or novels. When it’s hard to write a particular blog post on, I turn on NewSong’s CD, More Life. A consistent playlist helps me to focus and keep my style.

Are you planning on creating a blog, or do you have a blog? Drop a link in the comment box below so I can check it out?

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “So You Want to Start a Blog: Simple Tips for the Beginning Blogger

  1. Great advice! I’ve been planning to start a blog soon and this was just what I needed. Thanks!

I love hearing your comments. Please add to the discussion! (It'd be awesome if you could keep the comments G Rated. Thanks. :p)

